For Free Consultation (650) 293-9070

Traffic Tickets and DMV Hearings

San Mateo Traffic Lawyer-Michael Rehm (650) 293-9070

Available for free, confidential consultations 24/7 at (650) 293-9070

San Mateo Traffic Lawyer provides representation for traffic citations. Currently, in San Mateo County, traffic court arraignments are held at 500 County Center Redwood City 94063. However, once you set your matter for trial, the case can be transferred to 800 North Humboldt San Mateo, CA 94401.

San Mateo County traffic courts are traditionally fair, and obtaining dismissals or reduced charges are not uncommon. However, there is no guarantee, and a strong defense is necessary if you desire these outcomes.

Michael Rehm provides representation on the following traffic tickets:

    1. Vehicle Code 22349(a) – Speeding – 1 point violation
    2. Vehicle Code 22350 – Speeding – 1 point violation
    3. Vehicle Code 14601.1 – Driving on a suspended License

§ This offense can be charged as a misdemeanor or an infraction. 2 point violation.

    1. Vehicle Code 12500 – Driving without a license

§ This offense can be charged as a misdemeanor or an infraction. – No points either way.

    1. Vehicle Code 22348(b) – Excess of 100 mph

§ This comes with 2 points and a potential 30 day license suspension, as well as increased insurance costs.

All DMV license suspension hearings including:

      1. Medical Revocation- this generally occur due to stroke or epileptic seizure and the treating doctor informs the DMV.  What is needed to be successful at these hearings is a Doctor to sign off and potentially testify that you are not a risk on the road, either because it was an isolated incident or certain medications are now in place.
      2. Negligent Operator: A negligent operator suspension occurs because of too many points within a specified period of time. If you have received either 4 points in 12 months, 6 points in 24 months, or 8 points in 36 months, the DMV will label you a negligent operator and attempt to suspend your driver’s license for one year.
        • This hearing must be set within 14 days from the date of the letter.
          • If it is past the 14 days, it is still possible to obtain a hearing by filing a late hearing request and showing that it was no fault of your own that you were unable to comply with the 14 day rule.
        • If you are currently eligible for traffic school, and were at the time of the citation, it may still be possible to petition the original court for a request to complete traffic school. This scenario involves informing the DMV hearing officer that you will be doing traffic school on one of the points, and delaying the hearing for you to do just that.  The DMV will then set aside any suspension.
        • If you are not eligible, your DMV lawyer should argue for either a set aside of the suspension or that you be granted DMV probation.
          • DMV probation is generally for six months. Your terms are that you are not allowed to receive any citations, including non-moving violations, or have any failure to pay or appears.
            • If you do, the DMV will attempt to violate your probation, but not without another hearing and the process starts over.
          • One main factor the DMV looks at is the number of miles you drive on regular basis. The more miles, the more justification you have that you have accumulated so many points.

California DUI, Traffic & DMV Resources:

California DMV

Chart of Moving Violations and Corresponding Points

San Diego Motorcycle Accident Injury Attorney

If you charge is not on this list, it doesn’t mean the Michael Rehm does not provide representation. Contact San Mateo County DUI Attorney Michael Rehm at (650) 293-9070 to determine how the law applies to your case.